Back from the summer

August 18, 2010

I’m back in the archives after a summer of birding, loading hay and waiting for calves to be born.  Quite a change.  I know I haven’t be blogging regularly for quite a while, but I’m going to try to get back at it. It tends to help keep me focused and enthusiastic.

This is my fourth day back and I’m focusing on evaluating books to possibly add to our special collections.  There has been a back log in this area since before I started here in 2003. We just got started at it last year.  I’m hoping to get through what’s left before the students return. I don’t have experience in this area, but am enjoying learning as I go.  I’m getting to the point where I can quess if a book has value to us, before I check it online.

We haven’t nailed down a collection policy yet. Until I hear from the powers that be I’m looking for books published in Europe before 1801, in the US before 1840, valued at $350 or of local importance.  I’m using viaLibri.net to look for values.

We picked out all the obviously valuable titles last year. Now I’m getting 2 or 3 volumes per book truck that meet the criteria. It’s always a charge when I run across something special.

I’d be interested to hear if any of you have other criteria for selection, or seeing your collection develop policies for special collections, if you have them.

Here’s to the new academic year. I’m sure it will be a great one!

One Response to “Back from the summer”

  1. Griff Says:

    Welcome back to the archives, Linda. My name is Bill Griffing. I’m hoping to do more research this fall on Ralph Leland Goodrich of Owego, NY — a graduate of Hobart Free College. I have a niece who lives in Geneva so want to take advantage of the opportunity to visit Hobart and see if I can find anything more on RLG. Am wanting to know the hours of operation for the Archives, and if you know of any materials on RLG. Believe he was there from @ 1855-58? — Griff


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

