EAD 101.1

May 17, 2006

I wasn't able to import directly from bloglines so I'm cutting and pasting the work I did on EAD here.

Jan 12 2006 Online Finding Aids 101.1

After a conversation with James Leach (Regional Archivist) yesterday, I
discovered that I have much more experience in technology than most of
my peers in the region. Though most of them have much more archival
experience. This is what comes from being the automation consultant to
a rural public library system for many years. I've spent much of my
life teaching librarians how to use computers, why not start teaching
archivists.

Online Finding Aids seem to be the main focus these days so I'm going to
start there. If you can learn to use ead (Encoded Archival Description)
to make your finding aids you can use the same hard work to produce a
customized online finding aid, a print finding aid and a pdf finding
aid. (3 for the price of one.)

I suggest that a good way to get started is to go to the

* SAA EAD help pages. http://www.archivists.org/saagroups/ead/
* EAD COOKBOOK 2002. http://www.archivists.org/saagroups/ead/ead2002cookbookhelp.html
(I downloaded
it and have it right on my desktop)
* and explore Online Finding Aids from archives similiar to your own.

You have to let me know, by e-mail, if there are things you don't
understand in what I have written. It's important, because if you don't
I'll have to assume that you understand. If you don't, we are only
wasting both my time and yours. 🙂 Always remember, if you have a
questions, chances are at least one other person has the same question,
so you'll be helping them out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • May 2006
    M T W T F S S
        Jun »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Meta

