Preservation Options of PDF

February 6, 2007

I was able to attend this SAA webcast by Geof Huth yesterday and was very impress with it, both for the information I gained and for the format. Geof Huth was in Wisconsin and I was with 13 others at RRLC in Rochester, NY. We didn’t see Geof, but we heard him through the speaker phone and he manipulated the power point presentation. He answered questions from all over the country. What a great way to have a “national” workshop without the travel time and expenses!

I had learned back at the beginning of the academic year about being able to append to a PDF. Since then I have been collecting all the e-mail from the Faculty list, since memos are not sent any more. Yesterday we learned about PDF/A format, which is the ISO standard for archival PDF. This format embeds the fonts so if they change in the future, what you have looks as it did when it was produced. Geof covered the standard, advantages, disadvantages, software, but I won’t try to go into the whole presentation here.

So today I’m try to put into practice what I learned. Geof talked about Adobe Acrobat 8.0, and it turns out I have 7.0. I was able to figure out where to change the settings to PDF/A-1b (the minimum standard). Now I have to figure out how to change the stuff I’ve already saved to the standard. It’s not obvious to me yet. Any suggestions? 🙂

3 Responses to “Preservation Options of PDF”

  1. jordon Says:

    hey laura,

    i was at the same seminar, too. you said you have 7.0, so how are you able to save as a PDF-A doc?


  2. Hi Jordon,

    In MS Word there is a drop down menu for Adobe PDF. At the bottom of the menu is “Change Conversion Settings”. At the top there is a dropdown for Conversion Settings. The default is Standard. You can chose PDF/A1b2005 from that menu. I chose RGB, because I know it means Red Green Blue and I didn’t know what the other one meant. I still have to figure out how to do it with Outlook.

    –Linda

  3. Geof Huth Says:

    Linda,

    Sounds like you solved your problem. Acrobat 7.0’s support of PDF/A was based on a draft of the standard, so there’s a chance this does not meet the current standard. At the very least, it’ll be really close.

    (Caught this entry via ArchivesBlogs.

    Geof


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • February 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728  
  • Meta

