Student organizations

February 20, 2007

Does anyone out there have any ideas on getting items from student organizations sent to your Archives?  I have three different groups looking information from 20 years ago.  But 20 years ago no one thought to give anything to the Archives.

It is clear that most of the campus is not aware that the Archives exist.  I believe we are making slow progress at making ourselves known, but I sure would like to hear some suggestions.

One Response to “Student organizations”

  1. Jennie Says:

    I have similar difficulties at my institution. I can’t tell you how many times I hear, “I didn’t even know this was here,” when someone is ‘forced’ to come to Special Collections for something. There seems to be one thing that has made a difference, however. At the beginning of every year, there is a meeting at which someone from our Campus Programs office (CPO) talks to all the leaders of the different student organizations at once. At this meeting, I have asked the CPO representative to hand out a flyer that is specifically geared towards what the archives can do to help a student organization with their historical materials. I have made a number of connections with student organizations through this. It hasn’t yielded as much records donation as I’d like, but I have given a number of organizations advice concerning their current storage conditions, exhibit of their materials, etc. The response is completely different every year though, depending on the students and whether or not the CPO person “talks it up.”


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • February 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728  
  • Meta

