AT vs Backlog

March 1, 2007

OK, I just accessioned a pile of faculty publications and for those I decided to put in tracings for faculty and the faculty members name.

I am pleased with the Names database part of AT.  It will be my new authority file. It’s much easier to use than either the cataloging or searching modules.  As you type your keyword into the filter is just starts eliminating anything that doesn’t fit.

At this point, if it is a new name, I’m just putting in the name, knowing that I can go back and edit the name record easily when when I have time.

I like this!!

I got off to a pretty good start with the accessioning using priority numbers.  I think that part is going to work well.  However, I found myself getting all involved with determining subject headings and researching if we had other folders the item could be included with.  I finally realized I wasn’t  “working the backlog” I was well into description.

By the end of the day I decided that for the first step the only fields I will fill  are accession number, accession date, extent number, resource type and title.  If I have other information readily available, I’ll add it, otherwise I’ll plow through. 🙂

What are your experiences with this?

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • March 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta