AT vs Archon

May 10, 2007

We had a College Archivists Roundtable (CAR) meeting yesterday. Becky Simmons of RIT had been comparing and evaluating Archivists Toolkit and Archon, another open source system made available by the U of Illinois. She demonstrated them both. The Archon interface is much more user friendly, and your finding aid is web ready when you are finished. It doesn’t have the management features that I am so happy with on AT. I’m still very happy with the accessions and name modules that helps me keep track of “the piles”.

The AT demo made me aware that I need to go back and read the manual to figure out the parts of it that I haven’t taked advantage of yet. My way is to jump in and get as far as I need to to accomplish the immediate goal, and forget to go back for the in depth view. I see spending a happy summer becoming closer to AT.

Becky made the comment that it seems possible to use AT for the “work” and then load the finished EAD into Archon to make the webpage. That seems like a good idea.

It’s always so great to get together with my Archives Buddies. I learn so much from them. But I already miss my student workers. I have four graduating.

One Response to “AT vs Archon”


  1. I’d strongly advise against creating EAD in Archivists Toolkit to import into Archon. The import/export functions in both of them aren’t exactly reliable by far.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • May 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

