Archivists Toolkit and Name Authorities

June 21, 2007

OK, now here is a project that can only be done at an institution as small as this one.

Since it’s so quiet here in the summer, it lends itself to detailed work.  I’m going through all the authority records I’ve created on Voyager in the last four years and adding them to the Names database in Archivists Toolkit.  In the names record I’m putting a note with the Authority record ID number.  By doing this I’m finding places where I wasn’t consistent, and adding a lot of 410 and 510 fields.

The main reason for doing this is that the filter on AT names is so easy to use, compared to searching the authority records on Voyager.  I will use AT when cataloging to speed things along.

I should mention that I can’t do this for more than 1 1/2 a day, I seem to become lethargic after that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

