Data Entry

July 6, 2007

OK, here is what I’m thinking.

I’ll use Archivist’s Toolkit for the description of the collection.  I will definitely do the subject and names via AT.

Then I will add the inventory/container list to the finding aid via Notetab/EAD Clips.  The clips allow for a little faster data entry because you can set the box number and the folder numbers are automatically increased by one.

I have a collection of 79 boxes that I had my student workers input the Box/folder/title into MS Access.  I used it to create labels. I’ll cut and paste from that into Notetab.  I set describing this collection as my summer goal, that’s why I am thinking this through at this point.

With new collections I will try having the SWs enter the data directly into AT.  That should go fairly smoothly, I think…

2 Responses to “Data Entry”

  1. Jason Montgomery Says:

    Hello,

    My name is Jason Montgomery and I am helping to implement archivists’ toolkit at the California Ethnic and Multi-Cultural Archive located at UCSB. We are currently trying to come up with migration strategies for importing resource level data into the software, and are having some trouble with this. The software seems to handle accessions pretty well, but outside of “cut and paste” data entry for resources/records, we are coming up pretty short on just how to handle this type of migration. How are you all handling this issue?

    Thanks for the help.
    Jason Montgomery


  2. The only resources I have imported were EAD finding aids. My goal is to work with our electronic services librarian to try import all of our archives MARC records. Up until AT that is where we did all our cataloging. I hope to revise that and be able to upload to Voyager from AT. If I can import the MARC I figure I’ll be able to use AT as our authority control. That is all just in the goal stage.

    Have you joined the atug-L? They are really helpful. When I was having problems importing my accessions database they had me e-mail the data and they massaged it so it imported easily.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • July 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

