Photo digitization, again

November 16, 2007

Well, I’ve worked out the procedure for automating the resizing of photos for the OPAC and for thumbnails. I was hoping that I could do the “save as. jpg” and “save as _t.jpg” as well, but apparently you can’t automate “save as.” My other dashed hope was to select a whole folder of images to resize at one time. It seems they still have to be done one by one.

I’ve done three disks so far. The first I worked out the bugs, the second I wrote up the procedure while I did it, the third I followed the written procedure. I think I’m good to go. I’ll add the page to my “Archives Manual.”

If any of you have hints on streamlining this process, I’d love to hear them!

4 Responses to “Photo digitization, again”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    Hmm… you might figure out a way of using a 3rd party service. For example – I have an account over on Smugmug.com. I pay about $35 a year for unlimited storage.. when I drag and drop my photos to upload them THEY do a bunch of auto processing that includes generating thumbnails, small, medium and large versions of the photo. Take a look at this page to see what I mean (the gentleman on the upper right is my grandfather!):
    http://jeanne.smugmug.com/gallery/share.mg?how=forum&AlbumID=5434&Page=1&ImageID=250759

    The reason I found this service originally was that I was sick of auto resizing everything to feature it on a webpage.

    Hope this helps – even if it is only one or two steps of time saver.

    Jeanne

  2. gavclarke Says:

    This should be a fairly straigtforward proceedure. What image programme do you use? You can batch auomate the reszing of any number of images in photoshop and many other programmes – a quick search on ‘batch automate images’ provides a number of free applications that can do this for you.

  3. Mitch Says:

    Speaking of 3rd party software: for batch renaming problems, you might want to check out ReNamer by den4b (http://www.den4b.com/projects.php). It’s free, simple, and fast. We’ve been scanning photos at 1200dpi, then doing batch conversion to 300 and 72 using ACDSee. Once the converted files are in their respective temporary folders, we just use ReNamer, and then drop the resultant files into the appropriate database directories manually.


  4. Wow, Mitch,
    This looks like a dream come true for my project. I’m going to try it the next time I finish a disk!!
    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • November 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Meta

