2nd Life

January 3, 2008

I was lucky enough to go to a workshop on Second Life done by Jill Hurst-Wahl at the Rochester  Regional Library Council  in December.  Jill is a great trainer!

I had tried 2nd Life at home earlier in the year from home.  It turned out my computer didn’t have enough memory.  This intrigues me and I wanted another shot.

After the workshop I spent some time at work (better equipment) trying again.  I got in and was able to do everything on Orientation Island.  I changed my appearance, learned to walk and fly, learned to communicate.  I was having a great time and looking forward to seeing Information Island, but my display was constantly flashing colors and patterns over what I was doing.  My final decision was that my Video card wasn’t up to the task.  Bummer!  I guess I have to wait until the “average computer” catches up to the 2nd life requirements before I can have a 2nd life.

It does seem like an interesting learning tool.

One Response to “2nd Life”

  1. D.Moore Says:

    Just FYI, the symptoms you describe are often the result of the video card overheating. You could try cleaning the case of dust or simply opening the case and propping a small fan up against it to see if that’s the case.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • January 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

