I can’t believe it’s June!

June 3, 2008

Where did that year go?

Learning Commons construction is well under way. It looks great upstairs because a whole wall of windows, previously unseen in the main library, are now seen by the world. It makes the whole space look much more alive.

I’m busy making plans for moving the Archives collections. Almost everything will have to be moved. I’m trying to make sure that as little as possible will have to be moved more than once. I’m thinking of numbered, colored stickers on the document boxes to make sure they get back in the right order.

There were many folders of baccalaureate essays that were on warehouse shelving that got moved to lateral files, thanks to the help of Pauline, Karen and Ginny (awesome library staff members). I was exhausted and took a week off. When I returned they were all moved. I’d never make it without them!

2 Responses to “I can’t believe it’s June!”

  1. Aimee Says:

    As someone who’s in the middle of a move right now, I *highly* recommend numbered colored stickers for your boxes. I’m at the point now where I’m moving boxes onto carts for transport to the new building, and the numbered stickers are saving my sanity.

  2. Abby Says:

    Another suggestion: Bookcase carts. We had to move a library to a new space and the movers brought carts that were essentially big bookcases on wheels. It helped to keep the books in order. The librarian also labeled the first and last book on a shelf and matched it to a shelf in the new space.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Meta

