Library instruction session that will live in infamy!

September 11, 2008

Yesterday was my 1st library instruction session of the year. Aghhhhhhhhhhh! Of course the whole building is still getting moved in, but what a day.

–The “Learn Lab” has so computers yet, so I tried to squat in another smart classroom only to be bumped

–Superman Brian McDonald quickly set up laptops in the learn lab and brought my laptop up from archives

–Old laptops running on wireless…slow!

–My laptop had a lot of apps running and browser tabs open. Meebo kept flashing at me…very distracting

–I presented while sitting, a first. When I jumped up to help someone I came back and tried to proceed while standing, couldn’t read the laptop with my bifocals. Also the chair leaned way back, so I felt a little too “laid back”. I’d never actually been in the room except to walk through before the furniture was in.

–Interruption when someone came in to get my keys so a workman could get his tools out of archives.

–With all the tension and distractions I was unable to keep my focus

–Run over time and didn’t cover half of what I was going to.

Now that I got all that out of my system, perhaps I’ll be able to get it out of my head and quit reliving it.

As Elwood P. Dowd says, “Everyday is a beautiful day.”

Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Meta

