I’m still here.

September 25, 2008

It’s been a busy fall so far.

  • My second library instruction class was a success and I only have one more to do.
  • We have just about everything in place.  Just working with all the miscellaneous piles that got dumped on empty shelves at the last minute.
  • At the direction of our new director (Vince Boisselle-he’s great, BTW) Brian set up online forms for us to keep reference statistics.

    Archives Statistics Form

  • Optional text to record with transaction (name of person/department referred to, etc.)
    Type of transaction E-mail
    Face-to-face
    Phone
    User: Alumni
    College Administrator
    Faculty
    Student
    Outside Researcher
    Did we have the requested information? Yes
    No
    Referral? Yes
    choose one… Alumni House Circulation Communications CTL Geneva Historical Society Help Desk Reference TRC Other librarian Other library Other

I’m quite pleased with this.  Before we just had a log for people to sign in and I keep records of questions, but didn’t really count.  In the five years I’ve been here no one has been interested until now.

You might have seen in the comments that I’ve been asked to give advise for others that have to do a move similar to what we just went through.  I’m still contemplating.

One Response to “I’m still here.”


  1. Linda, this post was so appropriate! Just yesterday our new director asked me if I keep stats on archives usage. I told her that I do keep stats based on how the information is requested but I don’t keep stats on which collection is used. Our collection is so jumbled right now that I think the stats would be skewed, however, I do like the breakdown that your director suggested and I will be “borrowing” it. So thank you!


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Meta

