Persistence of Memory

January 8, 2009

I’ll bet you all thought I died.  Not yet!  The month of December got away from me completely.  If anyone suggests going to a conference in December I recommend against it!!!

The conference was great and I had fun with Becky Simmons, RIT archivist, and folks I met there.  It was “Persistence of Memory: Sustaining digital collections.” put on in Chicago by NEDCC.

There was much too much for me to share in this blog so I’ll give you some quotes and recommend such conferences.

Paul Conway, U of Mich

  • It’s the end of preservation as we know it, and I feel fine.
  • The death of the microfilm industry in near.

Bernard Reilly, Center for Research Libraries

  • Diversification: how many ways can the same content be “sold”

Simon Tanner, King’s College London

  • · Goal: to make our institution feel like the Wichita Lineman: “I want you more than need you, and I need you for all time.”

David Liroff, Public Service Media

  • · “If you continue to play by the old rules you will fail…but the new rules haven’t been written.”
  • · “If humans are achieving global consciousness, we are it’s memory”

I’ll try be be more blog regular in the new year.  Have a great year!!


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

