Student worker work assignments

February 3, 2009

I mentioned a while back that I was trying writing work assignments on a white board.  I want to report that it works great!!

  • The students like knowing what jobs are coming up.
  • They can ask if they can work on a project that looks interesting.
  • It also seems like a bonus to wipe something off the board.

I feel like I’ve already jobs this semester than usual.  It makes it easier to make sure the small jobs get done before I forget about them.

2 Responses to “Student worker work assignments”


  1. I love this idea. There’s something so satisfying about having work up on the whiteboard, and it forces everyone to have buy-in to the work process — instead of the to-do list on a post-it on my desk, the to-do list belongs to everyone and is marked off by everyone.

    I would be eager to your thoughts on managing student workers and helping them stay excited about work that sometimes isn’t terribly interesting… it sounds like you have a really great working relationship with your students!


    • My students and I have a great time. I do my best to treat them as friends. We take a few minutes to catch up when they first work in, how was your weekend, how are classes going… The whiteboard is working out very well. The left half is the to-do, the right is SOP (standard operating procedure). Are your hands clean? If you’re not sure, ASK, Always label in upper left corner, etc. Seems to work.

      Let me know how it goes for you if you try it.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Disturb the universe?

  • Pages

  • February 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  
  • Meta

